Easter Holiday

This year I will have the longest Easter Holiday ever! Three weeks! :-) I'm going to travel around in Timor-Leste and Indonesia together with my Swedish friend Linda. Now I'm on my way to Bali where I will meet Linda. We will continue to Timor-Leste tomorrow, where we will start our Asian Easter Adventure.

Happy Easter to all of you! 🐰
 
My little collection of chocolate Easter eggs. :-)

Kuala Lumpur

Tomorrow I will travel to Kuala Lumpur again. The capital of Malaysia. This time I will just have a transfer at the airport and catch a flight to Indonesia. I'm going on holiday! :-)
 
I have been to Kuala Lumpur a couple of times before, my Australian friend Colleen used to live there, so I was visiting her some times. Unfortunately she has moved back to Australia now. I really miss her!
 
The major tourist attraction in KL is definitely Petronas Twin Towers. The towers are housing the headquarter of the largest oil company in Malaysia, Petronas. From the sky bridge which is connecting the two towers you have a good view over the city. To get a very nice view of the towers I can recommend a visit to the Sky Bar at Traders Hotel. It's the best place to have a drink around sunset and watch as the towers are lit up.
 
 
 
 
 
Some other attractions in KL are the Central Market and Merdeka Square, but I would say that they are of modest interest. The market is very touristy and the prices are quite steep compared to Kuching. If you are interested in architecture there are some nice old buildings to have a look at around Merdeka Square, but that's all.
 
 
 
 
One thing I can recommend is to visit KL Bird Park. The main attraction there are the hornbills. The hornbill is the symbol of the state Sarawak (where I live at the moment) and the expression the Land of the Hornbill is used for marketing Sarawak. In the wild the hornbills are quite shy and not very easy to spot, so the bird park is a good destination if you want to have a closer look at them.
 
Mr. Hornbill.
 
 
Another graceful guy that I met in the bird park.
RSS 2.0