In the Highlands

We have just arrived at Strawberry Park Hotel in Cameron Highlands. The bus trip from Kuala Lumpur was scheduled to take 3.5 hours, but because of heavy traffic it took us almost 5 hours to get here. It seems like it's not just we that want to spend the new year up here, hehe... The bus journey was not that bad. We travelled with a bus company called Unititi. The seats were wide and comfortable, we had plenty of leg room and we even had foot rests to put our feet on.

Along the road we saw beautiful tea plantations spreading out over the hills. Tomorrow we are going on a half day tour in the area and then we will visit one of the plantations and also a strawberry farm

Now it's time to relax on our balcony with a cup of Cameron Valley Tea. :-)


Chinese New Year

Now the celebration of the Chinese New Year starts. The year of the horse! Tomorrow is a public holiday here, which means no work. :-) 

I'm on my way to Peninsular Malaysia with my friend. We are going to take a buss to Cameron Highlands tomorrow morning and spend the weekend there. In other words, we are going up in the mountains where the climate is a bit cooler. They have a lot of tea plantations in that area. The region is also famous for their strawberry farms.

Happy Chinese New Year! / Gong Xi Fa Cai! 

New year decorations in Suria shopping mall.

Kuala Gandah Elephant Centre

On Sunday I went on a day trip to Kuala Gandah Elephant Conservation Centre. The centre is located about two hours drive from Kuala Lumpur and takes care of elephants that have been relocated from other places in Southeast Asia. Many of the elephants are from Myanmar and Thailand.
 
Some of the elephants were previously used as working elephants and when they are no longer needed they are relocated to the centre. Other reasons for relocation can be that the elephants are trapped in an area that is too small for them to live in, or that they are destroying plantations and their survival are therfore threatened by plantation owners.
 
At the centre I got the opportunity to feed elephants with sugar cane and papaya. I was also bathing a baby elephant in the nearby river. It was a very nice experience! Definitely worth the two hours drive from KL. I travelled to the elephant centre with the tour operator Big Tree Tours, which I can highly recommend.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
It's nice to have personal snorkelling equipment.
 
  
The guide borrowed my camera and took a photo when we were bathing the baby elephant.

Outdoor Lunch in KL

Mission completed! I have my new passport now. :-) I met a Swedish man at the embassy that wasn't allowed to leave the country because his passport expires within 6 months. He said that he forgot to check this before his trip to Malaysia. He had also been robbed on Friday night. Well, I don't think he was just unlucky. He was a bit strange. So with this story I just want to remind you to check the expiry date of your passport before you travel somewhere.

The weather is nice here so I'm having outdoor lunch in KLCC Park. This is a very nice park in central KL and the view of Petronas Towers that the park offers is hard to beat!


Harrods Kuala Lumpur

I took a morning flight to Kuala Lumpur this morning. I'm going to the Swedish Embassy on Monday to pick up my new passport and decided to spend the weekend in KL. 

I spent the afternoon at Suria KLCC shopping mall and had a wonderful lunch at Harrods. Today is my brother's birthday so I had to celebrate him by having a three course lunch. ;-) Or maybe I was missing Europe a little bit and wanted to have European food. My lunch was delicious anyway!

Harrods seems to be a success here, because now they are building the first Harrods hotel in the world here in KL!

Smoked Salmon with Avocado Salsa

Creamy Tomato Soup

Raspberry Creme Brûlée 

Skiing in Dubai

After the helicopter ride we visited Atlantis which is located on the Palm Island. There we went to the Lost Chambers Aquarium. I have been to many aquariums all over the world, but this one was by far the best aquarium I have ever visited! The aquariums were clean and well maintained. The diplays were amazing!
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
If you are riding a helicopter in the morning and go skiing in the evening, does that count as heli skiing? :-) Yes, the evening was spent in the ski slope. There is an indoor (!) ski slope inside Mall of the Emirates. It's known as Ski Dubai and I just had to try it! The slopes were of course not very steep and a bit short, but it was a cool feeling to ski indoor! Finally I got the opportunity to dominate in an 'experts only' slope! :-)
 
 
 
Before we left Dubai we watched the Dubai Fountain show. I had heard a lot about it before, but I have to admit that it wasn't very impressive. It lasted for less than 5 minutes and there were no colours in the light show. I have seen better fountain shows than this. The background was nice however, the tallest building in the world beautifully lit up in the dark.
 
 
 

Dubai from Above

Last year I got the best Christmas gift ever from my parents. A helicopter sightseeing in Dubai! We took off in the morning from the helipad next to Atlantis hotel and saw all the famous Dubai landmarks from above. We flew by the Palm, Burj Al Arab, Jumeirah Beach, Burj Khalifa and the World Islands. It was so cool to see everything from above! :-)
 
Thank you so much mum and dad! This was an amazing experience!
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Dubai Landmarks

Our second day in Dubai started on top of the world! We went up in Burj Khalifa which is the tallest building in the world. It's 829.8 meters tall! The view up there was excellent! A good thing was that they have an outdoor viewing balcony. The air was really nice and fresh up there! :-)
  
 
 
   
 
When we were back on ground level again we went to Dubai Aquarium and Underwater Zoo, which is located in Dubai Mall. We walked through the aquarium tunnel and had a look at all the fishes.
 
 
One of the highlights during our days in Dubai was a dinner at Burj Al Arab. The sail shaped hotel has been rated as a seven star hotel. The building is as beautiful as you can imagine and the location, on a man made island, is perfect.
 
We had reserved a table at Al Muntaha Restaurant located on the 27th floor. It was dark when we were there, so the view was a bit limited even if we had a window table. The restaurant was very nice and modern. We had a two course dinner. As a starter we had King Crab and Ratatouille Ravioli, Steamed Obsiblue Prawns in XO Sauce and Hot Gaspacho Sauce. The main course we chosed was Atlantic Cod Marinated in Ginger and Soy Sauce with Braised Chinese Lettuce and Wild Mushrooms. This was absolutely one of the best dinners I have had, not just because of the food, it was mainly because of the setting.
 
 
 
 
 
  
  
 

Dubai - Desert Tour

Dubai is a crazy city with a lof of amazing architecture, but it is also an oasis in the desert. To see what most of the area looked like before the construction boom we went out on an afternoon desert tour. The tour included a 4WD drive through the desert, camel riding and a visit to a Beduin camp where we had a buffe dinner and watched a dance show, which also included belly dancing. It was a very nice tour! When we came back to the hotel and took off our shoes we found out that we had brought a piece of the desert home. :-)
 
 
 
 
 
 

Historical Dubai

 
Now I have finally had time to organize the photos from my vacation in Dubai, so it's time to show some of them to you.
 
We started our Dubai sightseeing by exploring Bur Dubai, the neighbourhood where the old town is located. We had a morning walk in the historical Bastakia Quarter before we visited Dubai museum to learn a little about the history of Dubai.
 
 
 
 
 
After exploring Bur Dubai we crossed Dubai Creek in an Abra, a traditional wooden boat. On the other side of the creek is the neighbourhood Deira located.
 
 
In the neighbourhood Deira in Dubai you can find the famous Gold Souk and also the Spice Souk. We started by having brunch at a cafe by the creek. I had a wonderful Avocado Smoothie! It sounds really strange so I just had to give it a try. It was a nice mix of avocado, milk and honey. It was absolutely delicious. I have to try to make one at home! :-)
 
After our brunch we walked through the Gold Souk. We saw the world's heaviest golden ring, with a total weight of 63.856 kg, including the precious stones on it!
 
 
 

Sarawak Laksa


After a walk in the city, where I also met one of my colleagues in a coffee shop, I had a local dish for lunch today; Sarawak Laksa. That is by far the best local dish I have tried here in Sarawak. It's a kind of noodle soup with a very tasteful sauce. Together with my Laksa I had fresh lime juice, which is another thing that is popular here. Sometimes they mix it with honey to make it a little bit sweeter.

Before the lunch I went to a tailor shop and delivered some clothes that I have decided to make some adjustments on. It's cheap to deliver things to the tailor here and my previous experiences with the quality of their works are very good.

Soon I'm going to start to prepare the dinner for tonight. Spaghetti bolognese with salad and bruschetta are on the menu. :-)

Public Holiday

Today is a Public Holiday in Malaysia, which means no work. I decided to go to work anyway, because I have to take a day off to go to Kuala Lumpur later this month to pick up my new passport at the Swedish embassy. So I thought I could replace that day by working today. 

It was very quiet at work. I only saw three other persons there, if I don't count the guards. The best thing was that it was almost no traffic today. It took me just 10 minutes to drive to work! Normally it takes about 30 minutes.

The evening is spent in the sofa with a Lonely Planet book. I'm planning a new adventure together with my friend Linda. :-) Hopefully she will come to Asia in April.

Bidayuh Wedding

Last year my friend's sister got married and I was invited to the wedding. Both she and her husband belong to the Bidayuh tribe, but the wedding was very modern. It's always interesting to participate in this kind of events in foreign countries and compare the traditions with what I'm used to from Scandinavia.
 
The bride was wearing a nice blue dress and the restaurant where the wedding reception was held was decorated in similar colours. Something that I have noted here is that people seems to prefer fake flowers before real ones. So was the case also during the wedding. I wonder why, because if you ask me nothing can beat real fresh flowers.
 
We were served a lot of food. I think I counted to seven different dishes! We had for example duck, sweet and sour fish, rice, vegetables and of course wedding cake.
 
I brought my camera to the wedding and helped the couple to document their wedding day. Below are some of the photos that I took.
 
Bridegroom and bride

Entertainment
 
The bride
 
Cake cutting
 
Blue flowers and decorations.
 
Cheers!
 
One of the younger guests.
 
The newlyweds.
 
Even the car is decorated.
 

James Brooke Bistro & Cafe

Today I had lunch at James Brooke Bistro & Cafe, which is one of my favorite restaurants here in Kuching. The restaurant has a very good location next to Sarawak River and the river promenade. Their grilled chicked, served with potato wedges and vegetables, is delicious! My favorite dish and that's exactly what I had for lunch today.

I also went to the gym today. The gym is not air conditioned so it's a challenge just to be there! :-) I was jogging on the treadmill for a while and finished my gym session with some exercises for the back. 

I have found a run in June that I'm planning to sign up for; Live Active Run. I'm planning to sign up for the 10 km class. It's inspiring to have goals for my running!

James Brooke Family Grilled Chicken

Nice view towards Sarawak River.

Back in Kuching

I'm back in Kuching after a long and wonderful holiday in Sweden and Dubai. We had a beautiful white Christmas in northern Sweden, as always. ;-) I tried to spend a lot of time outdoor; walking and skiing in the winter landscape. The air is so nice and fresh in the winter!

On Tuesday I started to work again after the holiday. As expected, I have been very tired this week, so now I'm enjoying a relaxing weekend at home here in Kuching. 

Today I have been to a massage place where I had a 70 minutes long body massage. That was nice! :-) I had dinner at an Italian restaurant nearby. They have a new menu and I tried a vegetarian pasta dish which was very good!

Now it's time for a glass of French Chablis, one of my favorite white wines, that I managed to find in a Tax Free shop in Dubai. I have not seen it here in Malaysia. Together with the wine I'm going to taste my chocolate camel, a souvenir from Dubai. :-) 

I also have a copy of my favorite Norwegian home decorating magazine. Maybe not the latest issue, but it's new to me!


Fireworks

From Marina Towers we had a very nice view over Djurgården and all the fireworks that were sent up over Stockholm. Here are some photos.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Dressed for success!
RSS 2.0