Jim Thompson


When I was in Cameron Highlands I heard the story about the American Jim Thompson, who was the founder of the modern Thai silk industry. In 1967 he spent the Easter holiday in Cameron Highlands together with some friends. He went out for a walk and disappeared. There was no sign of him to be found and what happened to him is still a mystery. 

When I found a book about the story I decided to buy it. I like to read books that are based on a true story. The last couple of days I have been reading about Jim Thompson and the only thing that I don't like with the book is that it doesn't give an answer to what happened to him. That is unfortunately still unknown! :-)

If you go to Bangkok you can visit Jim Thompson's house, which is a museum nowadays. Thompson had a large collection of Asian sculptures and paintings, which are on display in the house. 


Comments


Comment Here:


Name:
Remember Me?

E-mail: (will not be published)

URL/Blog address:

Comments:

Trackback
RSS 2.0