Java

The last stops on my Indonesia trip where on the island of Java. I spent four nights in Yogyakarta at the fashionable Phoenix Hotel. This historical hotel dating back to 1918 is an architectural piece of art and reminds me of Raffles in Singapore. I felt like a queen during my stay!
 
 
 
 
 
Yogyakarta is a perfect hub for exploring some of Indonesia's most magnificent temples. I visited four temples during my days in Yogya. I have seen many temples in my days, but Borobudur was really impressing. After visiting Borobudur I stopped at Prambanan, but that temple failed to impress me. The temple complex was huge, but most of the temples were in ruins.
 
I also enjoyed visiting the small but decorative temples Candi Cetho and Candi Sukuh, and the hike that we did from one temple to the other. We were hiking through a varying landscape with sweeping views, vegetable farms and pine forests. 
 
Borobudur.
 
 
 
Prambanan.
 
 
Candi Cetho is a temple for fertility worship. ;-)
 
Hiking through vegetable farms.
 
Candi Sukuh is also a fertility temple with a lot of "fertility sculptures".
 
After my days in Yogyakarta I did a brief stop in Jakarta, before I travelled back to Malaysia. Jakarta is a huge city with a lot of traffic and I just spent the day in a shopping mall.


Comments


Comment Here:


Name:
Remember Me?

E-mail: (will not be published)

URL/Blog address:

Comments:

Trackback
RSS 2.0