Penang

I think that I might travelled a little bit too much last year. :-) Is that possible? Well, one thing I noticed was that I never could find enough time between my travels to take care of all the photos I took and write about the places on my blog. This year I have travelled less and I have finally had time to organize a lot of photos.
 
I went to the island Penang outside Malaysia's west coast twice last year, thanks to a convenient direct flight from Kuching. The first time I stayed in the resort town Batu Ferringhi on the north coast of Penang. The second time I stayed in the old Uneso listed Georgetown. I had heard a lot about Georgetown, but to be honest there is not much to see there. There are the ruins of an old fort and some interesting street art. In Georgetown I stayed at the old colonial style Eastern & Oriental Hotel, which was very nice. It looks a bit like Raffles hotel in Singapore. I can highly recommend their afternoon tea!
 
View over Georgetown and the Penang bridge in the distance, which links Penang with Peninsular Malaysia.
 
Eastern & Oriental Hotel.
 
 
 
Fort Cornwallis.
 
 
 
 
In the botanical garden I saw the cannonball tree, which got its' name from the fruits the tree produces.
 
A dusky leaf monkey was hiding in a tree in the botanical garden.


Comments


Comment Here:


Name:
Remember Me?

E-mail: (will not be published)

URL/Blog address:

Comments:

Trackback
RSS 2.0