Perhentian Kecil

Tuesday was a public holiday here in Malaysia and that means a possibility to extend the weekend and travel on a weekend trip. Of course I took the opportunity to do that! I headed to the Perhentian Islands and discovered a true paradise with crystal clear water and white beaches. 
 
A 40 minutes boat ride east of northern Peninsular Malaysia you can find two paradise islands. The smaller island is called Perhentian Kecil and the bigger Perhentian Besar. I had decided to go to Perhentian Kecil this time. The most popular beach on Perhentian Kecil is Long Beach and I can see why. :-) The sand is so white and soft.
 
First I spent two nights in a simple chalet a bit up in the forest, because every other place I checked was fully booked. The last night I stayed at Bubu Long Beach Resort, which is the best resort on the island and I really liked the place. All rooms have ocean view.
 
Long Beach on Perhentian Kecil.
 
Beach life on Long Beach.
 
Bubu Long Beach Resort.
 
Bubu Long Beach Resort.
 
The view from my room at Bubu Resort.
 
Evening cocktail.
 
Perhentian is a good destination for scuba diving. There are a number of dive sites around the islands and the visibility is normally very good, but you don't have to go diving to see a lot of fishes, a snorkelling trip is a good alternative. I even saw a black tip reef shark when I was standing on the jetty! 
 
A black tip reef shark was swimming under the jetty.
 
 
Perhentian is a paradise and I hope I will have the opportunity to come back soon. Next time I want to sign up for a scuba diving course and discover what it looks like under water. I hope that I will meet my friend Mr. Shark again. :-)
 
 


Comments


Comment Here:


Name:
Remember Me?

E-mail: (will not be published)

URL/Blog address:

Comments:

Trackback
RSS 2.0